Book Review: The Deep

“What would an ocean be without a monster lurking in the dark? It would be like sleep without dreams.” – Werner Herzog

deepThe Deep is Michaelbrent Collings’ ode to the monster in the ocean. Unseen and unforgiving. It’s clear from the start of this novel that not only has Collings done tremendous research regarding deep diving and the ocean itself, but that he has a passion for this unique part of our world.

“We know less about the ocean than we do about the moon.” — The Deep

I love that Collings has taken an oft overlooked trademark of Stephen King, in that he realizes he doesn’t have to provide all of the answers. Yes, there’s something down there. Yes, it’s evil and life-threatening. But no, you will not uncover exactly what or how or why. Sometimes the best baddies don’t need to have their “backstories” revealed. They simply are.

The characters in this novel are a treat, each with their own issues. I particularly enjoyed the character of Haeberle, who believed he was living a dream and that everything and everyone around him was there for him to manipulate as God of his dream. Talk about psychotic. My only real complaint would be the love interest which felt a little over the top (saying you Love someone you’ve just met that day and barely had any interactions with?)

Overall this was a surprisingly good read. Definite recommendation for fans of Sphere, The Abyss, or any other underwater thriller. And big congrats to Michaelbrent Collings as this novel is a current Bram Stoker Award Nominee.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s